Filipinos Barred from Working in Nine ‘Unsafe’ Countries

MANILA: The Philippine authority has temporarily barred Filipino workers from going to nine “non compliant” or unsafe countries.

The suspension of deployment to Afghanistan, Chad, Cuba, Haiti, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Somalia and Zimbabwe will take effect immediately, Philippine Star quoted the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA) as saying.

“All POEA operating units are hereby directed to temporarily hold the processing of documents of workers bound for the identified non-compliant countries,” POEA Administrator Hans Cacdac reportedly said.

The Commission on Audit (COA) recommended to the POEA the temporary suspension of deployment to non-compliant countries, the report said.

At present, 194 countries are certified as compliant to the provisions of the Amended Migrant Workers Act, it added.

Under that law, the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) and POEA can only allow deployment to countries certified by the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) as safe and eligible to provide protection for Filipino workers, the report pointed out.

It also reportedly requires the forging of bilateral agreements between the Philippines and the host countries to ensure better working conditions for OFWs.

The POEA has lifted the ban on deployment of Filipino workers to Sierra Leone, reported Philippine Star.



Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker